Knitting and Crochet Blog Week 2012 Day 7 Balance KCBWDAY7

29 Apr

Crafting Balance 
Are you a knitter or a crocheter, or are you a bit of both?

When asked what I am doing, when crafting in public (which I do a lot), the answer is always knitting.  Some people confuse it with crochet, or macrame (yep, got that once.  Confused me terribly).  I can understand, if you don’t do it, it may not be clear.

Every once in a while I come across a project that I REALLY want to try, and sometimes, that project is crochet.

I am a crochet virgin.  I have a few hooks, but for rescuing stitches and weaving ends.

I tell myself I will learn crochet.  I was even gifted a “teach yourself to crochet” kit by one of my fellow knitters.    I have wonderful intentions, but seem to get distracted by knitting projects and works in process that are waiting for me.

I am teaching myself (again) how to sew (there are some knitting projects that would benefit from a nice lining), but that is also being back burnered in favor of a knitted sock in progress or a sweater I am going to start.

If nothing else, I need to learn crochet for the bind offs and edging that is possible with those little hooks!

Leave a Reply

