Knitting and Crochet Blog Week 2012! Knitting Hero 3KCBWDAY3

25 Apr

When talking about knitting, many people note they have someone they look up to above all other knitters.

I have met a number of knitters while learning this craft (as I still am…) and have picked up things from each of them.

I appreciate all my fiber friends and read quite  a lot of knitting blogs as well.

I think if I had to chose one knitter that I return to for help or just some commiserating, it would be the Yarn Harlot.

I  love her patterns, the wonderful drool-worthy pictures of fiber and her stories.  Be it a triumph of mastery over that string or an honest (and often hilarious) bit about what went wrong and possibly why.

I can still remember when I first learned of the Harlot, I was in a bookstore, looking for something funny, when I saw a book, seemingly about…  knitting?  Now I had at this point, just recently decided I was going to knit.  I do not remember what made me want to undertake this, but that is neither here nor there.  I was teaching myself through books and pamphlets and had just been turned on to this thing called YouTube, where you could find videos of people knitting.

Being new and obsessed as most new-to-something people are, I picked up the book.  I remember being particularly amused that she called herself the Yarn Harlot.  What a name!  Now, today I have picked up and read anything she writes that I can get my hands on, including her blog, of which I check most every day.

I have not met her yet, though I am trying to save up for a trip to the Sock Summit one day, but life keeps getting in the way.  Until then I will content myself with the blog and the hopes that she will write more books about knitting and all the funny things that can happen at 3 am when you are frantically trying to finish that blanket/scarf/sweater/pair of socks in time for whatever event calls for it.

Thanks Stephanie for helping a new knitter to realize that the silly mistakes and yarn lust can happen to anyone.

 

One Response to “Knitting and Crochet Blog Week 2012! Knitting Hero 3KCBWDAY3”

  1. siga April 25, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    And look where you’re now.

Leave a Reply

