WIP Wednesday

15 Dec

Thanks Tami!

Per the December challenge on Rav, I am using some yarn that has been sitting in my stash.  I am knitting a cute hat with some midnight blue mohair.

I got to the decreases for the crown and realized I will not have enough yarn to finish.  I asked my mom, who lives next to the town in which I bought this yarn, if perhaps she could pick some up and bring it with her when she comes down for Christmas.  I am waiting to see if weather and her schedule will allow for this.

Sorry for the weird pic, I am down with some crud and it’s 40 degrees here in FL.

On a down note, while knitting the hat, one of my needles snapped.  Luckily it’s part of my interchangeables, so I switched to one bigger needle to hold it for now.

I have contacted the company and am waiting to here back.

Hope you are all  ready for whatever holiday you are preparing for.  I just finished the cookies yesterday I planned to make and distribute, so I am on my way.  Got two knit gifts added to my list though, so I had better go start them now.

Check out Tami for more WIPs!

13 Responses to “WIP Wednesday”

  1. Tami December 15, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    Wow, ran out of yarn and had a needle snap!? Is the hat cursed? 😉 I love the color and hope that your mom is able to pick up another skein for you!

  2. MutantSupermodel December 15, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Greetings from a fellow Floridian yarn lover! I’m with Tami and wondering if that little hurt might be cursed. Snapping needles and swallowing yarn like that. Naughty!

    • knitterpixie December 17, 2010 at 9:59 am #

      I really hope not! Perhaps I should try and uncurse it somehow…..

  3. Denise December 15, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    Hope you can get more yarn. Man a needle snapping. I do love the color.

  4. Natalie December 15, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    Oh wow, love the mohair hat, it looks fab and I hope you can get enough to complete it. I have some mohair in my stash but have been unsure about what to use for, or even if to use it at all. You have inspired me to make my own mohair hat now, thank you 🙂 x

    • knitterpixie December 17, 2010 at 9:58 am #

      Welcome! I am going to love this hat when it’s finished.

  5. Alea December 15, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

    I’m totally afraid of breaking a needle! So glad they will replace it!

  6. affiknitty December 15, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

    The new hat is looking lovely. I hope you feel better soon!

  7. Kathleen December 15, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    That hat looks so wonderfully petable! I hope you’re able to get the yarn to finish it. 🙂

  8. autumngeisha December 15, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    Cute hat! Hopefully you’ll get the yarn needed to finish it. I had some knitpicks harmony interchangeables break on me while knitting a sweater. That’s why I only use Addi’s now. I’m glad that you were able to rescue your stitches.

  9. Dina December 16, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    oooh ick broken needles. I have a bad habit of sitting on my tiny double points.

  10. Rach December 16, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    here is hoping you get more yarn, i snapped a needle ones but i did stand on it so i figured i couldnt do anything about it x

Leave a Reply

